LOL! Funny eBooks for Kids

Find more eBooks and digital audiobooks through your library by downloading the FREE Libby by OverDrive app and cloudLibrary app from your App Store.

Sort by:

Always, Abigail

Always, Abigail

Cavanaugh, Nancy J., author.
2014

Sixth grader Abigail, assigned a different homeroom than her two best friends and made only the alternate on the pom-pom squad, learns a lot about popularity and true friendship when paired with unpopular Gabby for a year-long "Friendly Letter Assignment."

Show More


Curse of the Were-wiener

Curse of the Were-wiener

Vernon, Ursula
2010

Danny Dragonbreath and his best friend Wendell thought the hot dog from the school cafeteria looked a little . . . off. Then things got weird when the hot dog bit Wendell, and weirder still when Wendell started to sprout back hair. Could Wendell be morphing into a . . . ( cue ominous music ) were-wiener? All evidence points to yes. And unless he and Danny can get past the lunch ladies and slay the alpha-wurst, the whole school could be infected. Written in Ursula Vernon's trademark hybrid style of comic-book panels and text, this is the thrilling third book in the series. In a starred review, Kirkus Reviews said Dragonbreath "will leave readers in stiches- and on tenterhooks waiting for the next one." Curse of the Were-Wiener will make kids everywhere laugh, shriek, and take a closer look at their lunches.

Show More


Facts vs. Opinions vs. Robots

Facts vs. Opinions vs. Robots

Rex, Michael.
2020

A hilarious, timely conversation about the differences between facts and opinions, by the creator of the #1 Do you know the difference between a fact and an opinion? It can be a hard thing to understand. Some things are facts--like the number of robots in this book. Other things are opinions--like which robot would make the best friend, or which robot dances best. And sometimes to tell the difference between a fact and an opinion, you need to wait to get more information--that's because facts can be proven true or false, and opinions are things you feel and believe--but that you can't prove. Mike Rex introduces young readers to the very important distinction between facts and opinions, and he reminds us that it is nice to listen to one another's opinions, and to stand up for the facts!

Show More


Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey!

Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey!

Amato, Mary.
2014

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture.  When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt.  Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.

Show More


Hyacinth and the secrets beneath

Hyacinth and the secrets beneath

Sager Weinstein, Jacob, author.
2017

"When Hyacinth mixes hot and cold water in a sink in London with disastrous results, she learns that the city was built on magical rivers that are now London's sewers--and somehow her family is connected to the magic"-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


The Law of Finders Keepers

The Law of Finders Keepers

Turnage, Sheila
2018

The heart-warming conclusion to the beloved Mo & Dale Mysteries by Newbery Honor author Sheila Turnage featuring the most shocking case yet! Pirate fever sweeps through the town after an opportunistic treasure hunter shows up looking to lay claim to Blackbeard's lost gold buried somewhere in Tupelo Landing. When the (probably) world-famous Desperado Detectives—Mo and Dale and Harm—are hired by Mayor Little's mother to find the pirate loot for her, and the high-stakes race for riches is on! But that's not the only treasure hunt in town. Mo LoBeau unearths shocking new clues that may lead to her long-lost Upstream Mother—in the riskiest, scariest, and possibly richest case of her life. Will Mo find her Upstream Mother? Can the Desperados sidestep Blackbeard's curse and outsmart a professional treasure hunter? Will Dale faint under the pressure of Valentine's Day? Could the stakes be any higher? Yes. With twin treasures hanging in the balance, Mo, Dale, and Harm realize one of them may have to leave Tupelo Landing. For good. Readers can come to this new Mo & Dale Mystery right after Three Times Lucky if they like. And don't miss the rest of the Mo & Dale Mysteries! Three Times Lucky The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing The Odds of Getting Even

Show More


Me and Banksy

Me and Banksy

Lloyd Kyi, Tanya.
2020

A Banksy-style protest against cameras in classrooms brings a group of middle-grade students together. For fans of Rebecca Stead, Susin Nielsen and Gordon Korman. Dominica's private school is covered in cameras, and someone is hacking into them and posting embarrassing moments for the whole school to see. Like Ana picking her nose. When Dominica quickly changes her shirt from inside out in what she thinks is the privacy of a quiet corner in the library, she's shocked -- and embarrassed -- to discover a video has captured this and is currently circulating amongst her schoolmates. So mortifying, especially since over the past three years, they've had a half-dozen school talks about social media safety. Who has access to the school security cameras and why are they doing this? Dominica and her best friends, Holden and Saanvi, are determined to find out, and in the process start an art-based student campaign against cameras in the classroom.

Show More


The mosquito brothers

The mosquito brothers

Ondaatje, Griffin, author.
2015

Alone and scared in the world, mosquito Dinnn Needles tries to make friends and be cool until one day he is able to visit his family in the country and he learns what being cool really means.

Show More


The night garden

The night garden

Horvath, Polly, author.
2017

Twelve-year-old Franny Whitekraft lives quietly with her adopted parents on a farm on Vancouver Island until the spring of 1945 when the three Madden children move in, UFOs and ghosts appear, an important military airplane disappears, and wishes made in Old Tom's forbidden night garden will hopefully get everyone out of trouble.

Show More


Owls Are Good At Keeping Secrets

Owls Are Good At Keeping Secrets

O'Leary, Sara
2018

From the author of the beloved This Is Sadie comes a delightful book of curious, little-known stories about animals — one for each letter of the alphabet! Did you know that chipmunks love to stay up past their bedtime? Or that dragons cry at happy endings? I bet you'd never have guessed that iguanas sometimes get homesick at sleepovers. Sara O'Leary pulls back the curtain on the animal world and gives us absolutely charming little one-line "facts" about an animal for each letter of the alphabet. Kids will love to see their own quirks reflected in these adorably-rendered creatures, and perhaps will be comforted to know that, just like them, narwhals can be perfectly happy all on their own and quail also get tired of being told to be quiet. This is more than just an alphabet book — it is a charming, hilarious and touching look at the diversity of personalities in the world, worth many, many re-reads.

Show More


Public School Superhero

Public School Superhero

Tebbetts, Chris
2015

Kenny Wright is a kid with a secret identity. In his mind, he's Stainlezz Steel, super-powered defender of the weak. In reality, he's a chess club devotee known as a "Grandma's Boy," a label that makes him an easy target for bullies. Kenny wants to bring a little more Steel to the real world, but the question is: can he recognize his own true strength before peer pressure forces him to make the worst choice of his life? Featuring more than 150 pieces of line art and comic-style sequences, James Patterson's newest illustrated novel is a genuinely funny yet poignant look at middle school in a challenging urban setting, where a kid's life can depend on the everyday decisions he makes.

Show More


Real Pigeons Fight Crime (Book 1)

Real Pigeons Fight Crime (Book 1)

McDonald, Andrew.
2020

Ever wonder why pigeons act so weird? Because they are secretly chasing bad guys and flying around saving your butt! This hilarious illustrated series is perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN. What do REAL PIGEONS do? They fight crime, of course! Wait, what? You didn't know your town is protected by a secret squad of crime-fighting feathered friends? Well, you are about to get schooled. REAL PIGEONS solve mysteries! REAL PIGEONS fight bad guys! And REAL PIGEONS won't stop until your neighborhood is safe and the questions are all answered: Like, why have all the breadcrumbs disappeared? And which food truck smells the best?

Show More